It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:01 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Dual Monitor Question..
PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:06 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:59 pm
Posts: 2
I'd like to use a dual monitor setup- I would be working on the first monitor (looking at Youtube, Facebook or something like that) while my daughter plays SNESX9 at fullscreen on the second monitor. Can this be done without my keyboard and mouse use interfering with the game on the second monitor?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2017 8:21 am 
Offline
Grand Poobah
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:28 am
Posts: 629
Location: Austin, TX
Due to Snes9x losing focus when you do your work, it seems unlikely. There would need to be a way for the emulator to continue to accept input from the gamepad and such while not having focus to make that work.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:28 pm 
Offline
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 594
It should theoretically be possible if you set Input:Background to On and PauseWhenInactive to FALSE in snes9x.conf.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:04 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 7:59 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks. I gave it a shot, but it didn't work unfortunately. I guess I'm the only one who would like this feature :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:17 pm 
Offline
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 594
What doesn't work? Are you using a gamepad for snes9x?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
PostPosted: Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:15 pm 
Offline
Grand Poobah
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 4:28 am
Posts: 629
Location: Austin, TX
davidnay wrote:
Thanks. I gave it a shot, but it didn't work unfortunately. I guess I'm the only one who would like this feature :)


FWIW, I just set Snes9x up the way OV2 mentions and it worked fine for me. I mapped my controller, made sure the 2 settings mentioned were done, loaded a ROM and then click off the emulation window to drop focus, I was still able to play. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Might want to completely delete the contents of your Snes9x directory and start completely fresh. It's possible you got conflicting settings or other cruft helping cause issue.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group