[Closed] windows: AVI Hi-Res image size fix, etc.

This is for people involved in the developement of Snes9x, or SNES emulators in general.
BUG REPORTS BELONG IN TECH SUPPORT/BUG TRACKING!
Post Reply
User avatar
gocha
Snes9x Yellow Belt
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Japan, Nagoya

[Closed] windows: AVI Hi-Res image size fix, etc.

Post by gocha » Sun Jan 30, 2011 3:50 am

TODO: Use S9xGetSampleCount() rather than calcurate sample length in port-specific code.

====

http://pastebin.com/KNvgV2qP

windows:
  • fixed AVI image size, now it should resize Hi-Res image properly.
  • added GUI.AVIHiRes option, which allows us recording Hi-Res image without down-sampling. (it cannot be changed from GUI at the moment, needs addition in menu/dialog)
  • modified ReInitSound, to do nothing during AVI recording (fix "Reset during AVI recording" situation)
Note: my AVI recording code doesn't use Convert16To24. I guess it can be simplified like Convert16To32 from now, if needed.
Last edited by gocha on Sun Feb 13, 2011 6:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gocha
Snes9x Yellow Belt
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Japan, Nagoya

Post by gocha » Sun Jan 30, 2011 7:04 am

http://pastebin.com/29Zd2raP

windows: improved AVI sound sync (solution for the 32kHz desync issue)

Ideally, available sound sample length should be reported by core, I think. Oh well.

User avatar
Camo_Yoshi
Snes9x Purple belt
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: /dev/null

Post by Camo_Yoshi » Sun Jan 30, 2011 10:17 pm

Mirrored on my website. Thanks!
Snes9x FAQs | Forum Rules
What operating system are you using? 32 or 64bit? Version of Snes9x? Is the text at the bottom of the window white when you load the game?
These suggestions are usually the solution to your issue!

the_randomizer
Snes9x Orange Belt
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:18 am

Re: windows: AVI Hi-Res image size fix, etc.

Post by the_randomizer » Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:16 am

gocha wrote:http://pastebin.com/KNvgV2qP

windows:
  • fixed AVI image size, now it should resize Hi-Res image properly.
Nice :D
Lisa: "I hope you all know you're sponsoring a murderous pirate!"
Sponsor: "A pirate!!? Well, that's hardly the image we need for Long John Silvers!"

User avatar
OV2
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
Posts: 679
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm

Post by OV2 » Mon Jan 31, 2011 4:39 pm

Just to clarifiy: you want to ensure a specific 1x/2x output size, while currently the snes output at the start of the recording decides on the avi size?

I had a quick look and it seems you missed the 512x448 hires/interlaced output mode.
Ideally, available sound sample length should be reported by core, I think. Oh well.
You mean the byte size of one sample? Available samples are already available through S9xGetSampleCount().

User avatar
gocha
Snes9x Yellow Belt
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Japan, Nagoya

Post by gocha » Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:46 pm

OV2 wrote:Just to clarifiy: you want to ensure a specific 1x/2x output size, while currently the snes output at the start of the recording decides on the avi size?

I had a quick look and it seems you missed the 512x448 hires/interlaced output mode.
You're right. Yeah, I missed interlaced output. What game does use hires/interlaced mode?
OV2 wrote:Available samples are already available through S9xGetSampleCount().
Probably, that's exactly I wanted. However, it doesn't work well in DoAVIVideoFrame(), probably because SoundDevice is closed or something like that.

the_randomizer
Snes9x Orange Belt
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:18 am

Post by the_randomizer » Wed Feb 02, 2011 12:53 am

gocha wrote:
OV2 wrote:You're right. Yeah, I missed interlaced output. What game does use hires/interlaced mode?
Seiken Densetsu 3 uses it every time text shows up on the screen; if you make a savestate when text is shown, the name of the save will look squished.

Here's a comparison:

Image
Lisa: "I hope you all know you're sponsoring a murderous pirate!"
Sponsor: "A pirate!!? Well, that's hardly the image we need for Long John Silvers!"

User avatar
OV2
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
Posts: 679
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm

Post by OV2 » Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:12 am

SD3 uses plain hires.

Examples for hires+interlaced are "RPM Racing" (the whole game), "Olivia's Mystery" (Title Screen) or "Bishoujo Wrestler Retsuden - Blizzard Yuki Rannyuu!!" (Company Logo).

adventure_of_link
Hero of Hyrule | Official Port Recruiter
Posts: 2588
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:06 pm
Location: 255.255.255.255

Post by adventure_of_link » Wed Feb 02, 2011 3:04 am

Uhm... doesn't parts of "Treasure of the Rudras", "Super Play Action Football", "Secret of Mana", and the title screen of "Donkey Kong Country" use hi-res and/or interlace?
Image

Unofficial Test Monkey For:
* Snes9X GX (Wii)
* Snes9X EX (Android)
* Snes9X 64-bits (PC/Mac)

ZSNES|Ben Heck|NSRT|Bob Smiley

User avatar
gocha
Snes9x Yellow Belt
Posts: 64
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:14 am
Location: Japan, Nagoya

Post by gocha » Fri Feb 04, 2011 3:07 pm

Thank you OV2. I put additional patch for interlace.
http://pastebin.com/MKYz0eN8

Edit: oops, moved Interp().
http://pastebin.com/Pc0Htjsn

I didn't test normal/interlace game. I hope it will work well.

<del>Known Issues: BlendHiRes doesn't work for every frame with interlaced screen.</del>

Post Reply