Save States--Snes9x for Mac

If you're having problems with Snes9x, or think you've found a bug, this is the place to be.
Cucco
Snes9x White Belt

Save States--Snes9x for Mac

Post by Cucco »

Hello! I am new to the Snes9x, and so far, I am absolutely loving it.

Unfortunately, I had neglected to save in-game, and instead thought that by double-clicking the screen, the emulator would save instead. (every time a double clicked, something like "saved Earthbound.oops" would pop up).

I'm assuming that this wasn't actually a substitute for actual in-game saving, and I cannot find ANY folder in the Snes9x application that is labelled 'saves", or save slots. I don't know where they are, or how I can access them.
Instead, all I see is the ROM itself.

I've reached the conclusion that I cannot resume the place I was before, so I decided to look into save files that I could download to resume my position. I downloaded a .srm file from http://fantasyanime.com/legacy/earthb_saves.htm , which supposedly should work with Snes9x. After following the instructions all the way, upon activation, a message pops up in yellow saying "ROM corrupt, bad checksum".

Is there a way to activate this save file? Or is there a miraculous way to recover my previous data?
odditude
Snes9x Green Belt

Re: Save States--Snes9x for Mac

Post by odditude »

first thing first. the .oops files you created (through a truly bizarre method) are indeed savestates. if you load it* from the load state menu after loading the ROM through the usual fashion, you'll be at the spot you were when that most recent .oops was created.