It is currently Mon Nov 24, 2014 3:36 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

Can you help?
Yes! =D 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
No:( 0%  0%  [ 0 ]
I dunno, but I'll try my best good sir! :3 100%  100%  [ 1 ]
Total votes : 1
Author Message
 Post subject: It's not working :(
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:49 am 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:40 am
Posts: 4
Location: San Diego, the third safest place in teh world :3
So like... It was working one day... And then the next, it just wasn't working :(

I had no problems until like... maybe a week, if not less days ago. Whenever I open the Snes player, it shows up on my task bar, showing that it's there ,but the window doesn't open at all! I have a PC, Windows 7, it worked amazingly! Played Chrono trigger for the first time on it, LOVED IT. Played all my childhood games, so I know it works. The saves worked, the loading worked, all the games seemed to work, it just... Stopped though, outta nowhere :( And I miss it! lol

If you need more details, lemme know. Maybe we can Screen share or something if you don't know what I am talking about ^^; Or if you know exactly what I am talking about, I am all ears! lol I've tried deleting it and putting it back on to. I've tried playing it from the disk as well, it still doesn't work :( So I looked at all the instructions and my situation was never in it, so thank you guys for sticking the link to this site in the notes! lol

Anyways, sorry for rambling, I hope you can help :3 If anything is unclear, which I bet it is, lemme know so I can clear it up, thanks a lot! =D

_________________
Hazama is a troll. Anyone know what I be talkin' 'bout?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:29 pm 
Offline
Official Android Porter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:20 pm
Posts: 303
Location: All up in your business
First thing to try:

Go into the SNES9x directory and rename your snes9x.conf file to snes9x.bak - then try running the emulator. It's possible you wound up with some configuration that your computer doesn't like - fullscreen with an improper resolution or something like that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 07, 2011 8:20 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:40 am
Posts: 4
Location: San Diego, the third safest place in teh world :3
Thank you so much for your help! My brother took a look at it and he was able to fix it :3 What you were saying was a good start, but apparently it wasn't the problem O.o He just pushed buttons until it worked I think... I dunno lol Thank you so much! =D

_________________
Hazama is a troll. Anyone know what I be talkin' 'bout?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 08, 2011 5:52 pm 
Offline
Official Android Porter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:20 pm
Posts: 303
Location: All up in your business
That sounds like how I fix problems most of the time! Glad it's working for you now. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: It's not working :(
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 3:08 am 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 2:57 am
Posts: 1
animefanatic777 wrote:
So like... It was working one day... And then the next, it just wasn't working :(

I had no problems until like... maybe a week, if not less days ago. Whenever I open the Snes player, it shows up on my task bar, showing that it's there ,but the window doesn't open at all! I have a PC, Windows 7, it worked amazingly! Played Chrono trigger for the first time on it, LOVED IT. Played all my childhood games, so I know it works. The saves worked, the loading worked, all the games seemed to work, it just... Stopped though, outta nowhere :( And I miss it! lol

If you need more details, lemme know. Maybe we can Screen share or something if you don't know what I am talking about ^^; Or if you know exactly what I am talking about, I am all ears! lol I've tried deleting it and putting it back on to. I've tried playing it from the disk as well, it still doesn't work :( So I looked at all the instructions and my situation was never in it, so thank you guys for sticking the link to this site in the notes! lol

Anyways, sorry for rambling, I hope you can help :3 If anything is unclear, which I bet it is, lemme know so I can clear it up, thanks a lot! =D


I'm having the same issue as stated on this new thread.

I am currently running Ubuntu 11.04

When I first installed snes9x via the software download center, it ran like a dream. No problems. I didn't try to use a joystick b/c I don't have one. But other than that everything ran fine, in synch, no tearing, fullscreen, everything was wonderfull.

Then I was troubleshooting on how to play Ragnarok Online, (private server AnimusRO) and I did a few things in terminal to try to get that working, now snes9x doesn't work anymore >_<. It will load in the taskbar and quit. I was working on a game too. Here's the page I was working on before I ran into the problem. I followed all the steps on there as best I could.

http://www.techdrivein.com/2011/04/12-t ... g-new.html

after I ran all those troubleshooting tips, I was unable to play snes9x. I don't know what I did, or how to undo it. >_< I'm usually really good with computers, but I'm a nub when it comes to Ubuntu.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 24, 2011 5:27 pm 
Offline
Official Android Porter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:20 pm
Posts: 303
Location: All up in your business
Oof. Something of a Linux nub myself, but let's see what we can do.

First off, I'm going to suggest the same thing I did to animefanatic - find the .conf file and rename it, then try starting SNES9x.

Better yet, after renaming the .conf file, start up an xterm and launch SNES9x from there. If anything gets spit out on stdout or stderr, that should let you see it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:19 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Posts: 2
Hi I just started having the same problem. I click the SNES9X from the taskbar (I've also gone and opened it from the directory) and it just sits there and does nothing. I do not have a .conf file to change and pressing keys hasn't helped anything. I'm running PC with Windows 7 64-bit. I also don't know where I would find it (online if possible, I just don't have that in the file) I don't know what to do. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2011 7:42 pm 
Offline
Snes9x Purple belt
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 7:59 pm
Posts: 919
Location: /dev/null
You'll want to open where Snes9x.exe is and rename the Snes9x.conf file in that same directory to Snes9x.conf.bak. Then try running Snes9x again.

_________________
Snes9x FAQs | Forum Rules
What operating system are you using? 32 or 64bit? Version of Snes9x? Is the text at the bottom of the window white when you load the game?
These suggestions are usually the solution to your issue!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2011 5:12 am 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:02 pm
Posts: 2
I don't have that file though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 7:01 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:40 am
Posts: 4
Location: San Diego, the third safest place in teh world :3
Lol good to know my complaint from forever ago seemed to help other people! Well, it started not working for me again, in the EXACT same way, so I'm gonna that whole changing the name and stuff, because last time we didn't do that and it just started working because of some... Randomness <.<; lol I'll go give the file name a try and then come back to confirm if it works, because apparently no confirmation was posted whenever someone elses worked XD lol

_________________
Hazama is a troll. Anyone know what I be talkin' 'bout?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 7:13 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2011 4:40 am
Posts: 4
Location: San Diego, the third safest place in teh world :3
Sorry for double posting, but I went in to look at it, and I may be doing something wrong, but I do not have a file that says 'Snes9x.Conf' It's just... Snes9x. No Conf, or Bak, or nothing D: I put in the disk to make sure It was in there, and I didn't see it in there... I'm probably not looking in the right place for this... Any help please? Because if I don't have it, I'll be very sad XD lol

_________________
Hazama is a troll. Anyone know what I be talkin' 'bout?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 8:40 pm 
Offline
Official Android Porter
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:20 pm
Posts: 303
Location: All up in your business
That's probably because Windows is hiding file extensions.

Go to Control Panel -> Appearance and Personalization -> Folder Options -> View tab -> Advanced Settings -> uncheck Hide extensions for known file types

There, now you can tell what the files actually are. (I always do this, for security reasons if nothing else. It's entirely possible to hide a trojan by naming it document.txt.exe and giving it the same icon as text files, as Windows will hide the .exe and show the icon. Then, when you double-click it to read the text file, bam! Viruses.)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group