It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 9:44 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 146 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:23 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:58 pm
Posts: 18
Wow! a new version release sweet!

Just a small question though regarding those cg dlls...

I use windows XP as my system OS & I just have a rinky dink GeForce FX5500 graphics card. My question is, are those cg dlls going to work for me? I'm just asking to make sure as I'm kinda scared to try out something I'm not too familiar with.

EDIT:

Err, never mind that, I tried to fire up the emulator & I encountered an error message. It seems the emulator is looking for a dll file called d3dx9_38.dll. I downloaded the version of snes9x meant for 32-bit systems, not the one backward compatible for 32-bit & 64-bit systems by the way.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:45 pm 
Offline
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 594
You need to install the latest version of DirectX 9 for snes9x to work.

The cg dlls will work for all cards. You'll have to check for yourself if the shaders perform well though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 3:03 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:58 pm
Posts: 18
Thanks for that link for the update to DiretX9 OV2, that did the trick :)

OK, now for some game compatibility reports:

From my posts on the version 1.52 release the games I had issues with were:

1. Justice League Task Force
2. Mutant Chronicles: Doom Troopers
3. Porky Pig's Haunted Holiday
4. Spider Man
5. Stunt Racer FX

With 1.53 running Mutant Chronicles runs smoothly now. The Spider Man game... this one to be exact:

http://www.gamefaqs.com/snes/580502-spi ... s/screen-1

Still suffers from the desync issues but unlike before that the game automatically freezes, now the game's music would run really fast & in some point would cause the game to lock up. Same goes for the Justice League game. Desynced music that leads to game lock up.

Porky Pig's game now just loads the Acclaim logo then fades to black literally. As for Stunt Racer FX? The in game menu's still gives one seizures.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:22 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:15 pm
Posts: 4
Hi Guys,
I'm running 1.53 on a mac, and I've been having this annoying problem since 1.52.
Whenever I have my input show, it always has this text right before the actual input:
Image
I'm assuming this is simply noting Player 1 and Player 2.
I do not want this text to be here, I simply want it to be like this:
Image
Just the input.
Help would be greatly appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:06 pm 
Offline
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 594
That's not possible without changing the source code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:47 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:15 pm
Posts: 4
Okay, well, how about frame advance/pausing? I can't seem to find this feature, anywhere.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:09 am 
Offline
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 594
Take a look at "Help -> Controllers Support"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:01 am 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:58 pm
Posts: 18
I forgot to ask, are save files (both SRAM & States) from 1.52 compatible with 1.53?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:19 am 
Offline
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 594
1.53 can load 1.52 snapshots but not the other way around.

SRAM is still compatible with all versions.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:45 am 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Tue Nov 21, 2006 2:20 am
Posts: 9
What do these CG shaders do that the normal filters won't? Is it a matter of hardware graphics acceleration?

_________________
"There are too many monsters these days..."

-Final Fantasy IV, SNES version called Final Fantasy II


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 3:53 am 
Offline
Snes9x Orange Belt

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:18 am
Posts: 222
Ugh. I just read what Byuu said about Snes9x, and I found it to be oddly disturbing. Yeah, I know we're all entitled to our opinions, but...maybe he went a bit too far.

Quote from http://board.byuu.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=1583

"I am disappointed to hear that the BlockInvalidVRAMAccess flag was fixed. To think, v1.52 finally did it right by leaving that out (albeit unintentionally), and I didn't even know, and now it's re-added. A real shame there. This is just going to perpetuate broken hacks. Why fix your broken game when you can just tell someone to change a setting?"

Seriously, who gives a tin schilling? I don't. Snes9x is better; doesn't have super high requirements, uses the same audio core, games can actually fill up the screen without black borders, movie recording, quick save/load, and Snes9x can run those Japan-only BS/Super Famciom games (like Chrono Trigger Music Library) without having to dump an otherwise impossible-to-get BIOS file.

_________________
Lisa: "I hope you all know you're sponsoring a murderous pirate!"
Sponsor: "A pirate!!? Well, that's hardly the image we need for Long John Silvers!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:13 am 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:58 pm
Posts: 18
OV2 wrote:
1.53 can load 1.52 snapshots but not the other way around.

SRAM is still compatible with all versions.


Thanks again OV2 :)

I noticed Savestates or snapshots as you referred to them now are named as .zst files from the previous .000 (0 to 9 depending on the slot the state was saved) & I thought I was screwed, but I tried renaming my .000 files to .zst's & they worked! Thank goodness :)

And I apologize for asking another question, but it seems the emulator can no longer remember the window size I make for it & I need to resize each time I launch the emulator. Is there a new setting I need to set for it to remember my preferred windowed mode screen size?

EDIT:

My Apologies I finally figured it out. I just had to open an instance of the emulator, load a ROM & then load another instance of the emulator while the first was still open/running.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:05 am 
Offline
Official Mac OSX Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:58 pm
Posts: 908
Location: Japan
the_randomizer wrote:
Ugh. I just read what Byuu said about Snes9x, and I found it to be oddly disturbing. Yeah, I know we're all entitled to our opinions, but...maybe he went a bit too far.

BlockInvalidVRAMAccess will be removed when we can confirm there's no game which needs this hack, similar to HDMA timings hack that was removed in 1.53. Currently (as far as I know) only one game needs it, but I've not looked into the game yet. :P

I personally want to give preference to user's convenience over accurate emulation. Perfect emulation is of course very important, but because we already have bsnes, I think we don't need to pursue it for snes9x so eagerly. I want to improve snes9x step-by-step, unhurriedly ;) More important thing for me is to maintain and spread this conventional and novel emulator that Gary and Jerremy established.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:57 am 
Offline
Official GTK/Linux Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:50 am
Posts: 407
the_randomizer wrote:
"I am disappointed to hear that the BlockInvalidVRAMAccess flag was fixed. To think, v1.52 finally did it right by leaving that out (albeit unintentionally), and I didn't even know, and now it's re-added. A real shame there. This is just going to perpetuate broken hacks. Why fix your broken game when you can just tell someone to change a setting?"

This is really more of a jab at the ROM hackers who rely on faulty emulator behavior and whose hacks won't work on real hardware. We're just being enablers.

the_randomizer wrote:
Seriously, who gives a tin schilling? I don't. Snes9x is better; doesn't have super high requirements, uses the same audio core, games can actually fill up the screen without black borders, movie recording, quick save/load, and Snes9x can run those Japan-only BS/Super Famciom games (like Chrono Trigger Music Library) without having to dump an otherwise impossible-to-get BIOS file.

In all honesty, bsnes is significantly better emulation-wise. Most of what you're describing (aside from the system requirements) can be easily added to bsnes or made into a libsnes ui, should someone desire it. bsnes and Snes9x have slightly different focuses, but there isn't any sort of vindictive competition between the developers (we think very highly of byuu). As an end-user, you're free to use either emulator in the situations they work best. You don't have to "pick a side."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:16 pm 
Offline
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 594
jtull89 wrote:
What do these CG shaders do that the normal filters won't? Is it a matter of hardware graphics acceleration?

Shaders are run on your graphics card and thus hardware accelerated.
They also provide different filter possibilities (such as the CRT shaders).

Besides CG shaders you can also use xml shaders from Screwtape's archive (not those in the 1.1 folder). However most of those are only compatible with OpenGL.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:30 pm 
Offline
Snes9x Orange Belt

Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:18 am
Posts: 222
Wow. It seems Byuu must have found out what I wrote and banned my IP address from viewing his forums. Bitter much? Oh, well. :roll: He can't stop me from using the computers from my school, now can he? I never explicitly said I hated him or Bsnes either. Thank goodness for loopholes.

_________________
Lisa: "I hope you all know you're sponsoring a murderous pirate!"
Sponsor: "A pirate!!? Well, that's hardly the image we need for Long John Silvers!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:05 pm 
Offline
Snes9x Orange Belt
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 211
Location: UK
Fantastic release. :)

Noticed so far that the Windows port creates several file associations by default without asking the user. Any way to prevent this happening?

_________________
ZSNES Documentation Project | bsnes Supporter


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 5:26 pm 
Offline
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm
Posts: 594
It doesn't directly create file associations, it registers itself as an "OpenWith" application for all its supported filetypes (which is necessary for the jumplist entries). It will never overwrite any association you might have set up yourself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 6:37 pm 
Offline
Hero of Hyrule | Official Port Recruiter

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 5:06 pm
Posts: 2588
Location: 255.255.255.255
the_randomizer wrote:
Wow. It seems Byuu must have found out what I wrote and banned my IP address from viewing his forums. Bitter much? Oh, well. :roll: He can't stop me from using the computers from my school, now can he? I never explicitly said I hated him or Bsnes either. Thank goodness for loopholes.


sounds like www.proxy.org is your best friend here....

_________________
Image

Unofficial Test Monkey For:
* Snes9X GX (Wii)
* Snes9X EX (Android)
* Snes9X 64-bits (PC/Mac)

ZSNES|Ben Heck|NSRT|Bob Smiley


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:43 pm 
Offline
Snes9x White Belt

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 11:13 am
Posts: 3
Hi friends! I am very pleased that the update ))))) :D 8)
Worm Jim 2 and Doom Troopers are fine but that's the sound could not adjust.
How do I disable the interpolated sound? :?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 146 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group