Snes9x 1.53

This is for people involved in the developement of Snes9x, or SNES emulators in general.
BUG REPORTS BELONG IN TECH SUPPORT/BUG TRACKING!

Moderator: Ryan

Madmab
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:06 am

Post by Madmab » Mon Aug 15, 2011 10:42 am

Just another question for ya guys..

Those IRQ/APU changes. Is there anything in particular they improve? Game compatibility, etc?

Thanks
Xtras! We do the systems others dare not!

User avatar
OV2
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm

Post by OV2 » Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:51 pm

What APU changes are you referring to?

The IRQ changes fix or improve a few games, for example Sink or Swim, F1 Grand Prix, Battle Blaze.

mvp3
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:19 pm

would you let the snes9x support nGlide

Post by mvp3 » Sat Sep 10, 2011 4:23 pm

I am very like 3dfx glide,the picture is very fine than opengl.
please support the nGlide.
thank you very much.

the_randomizer
Snes9x Orange Belt
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:18 am

Post by the_randomizer » Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:24 pm

nGlide or the Glide API is outdated. Use a Glide Wrapper or update your video card.
Lisa: "I hope you all know you're sponsoring a murderous pirate!"
Sponsor: "A pirate!!? Well, that's hardly the image we need for Long John Silvers!"

squall_leonhart69r

Post by squall_leonhart69r » Tue Sep 13, 2011 12:53 am

the_randomizer wrote:nGlide or the Glide API is outdated. Use a Glide Wrapper or update your video card.
nglide is not outdated.

but glide as a whole has been supersceded by direct3d and opengl

Madmab
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:06 am

Post by Madmab » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:55 am

Hi guys it's me again.

I definitely confirmed that the IRQ timing changes do affect speed on the xbox. No biggy I have a special build for "Trusty box" users. So that makes three builds.. 1.51, 1.53, and 1.53 with the IRQ timing changes.

That brings me to another question. A beta tester confirmed an issue in Kirby Dreamland 3 on certain levels the music gets kinda slow and choppy. Gameplay speed to me seemed the same, but I could be wrong. In particular I'm thinking of the 3rd stage where there are clouds in the sky (rocks and witches).

Anywho x-ports version of snes9xbox was originally based on core version 1.42 and on his the game appears to run fine. So I'm just curious if any changes between 1.42 and 1.51 would affect that particular games speed so much. Just asking cause I wanna make sure I did not overlook or foobar something during the porting process.

Thanks. :)
Xtras! We do the systems others dare not!

User avatar
SparroHawc
Official Android Porter
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 9:20 pm
Location: All up in your business

Post by SparroHawc » Fri Oct 07, 2011 6:52 pm

Yup. The sound core has been entirely replaced since then. The new one is a lot more processor-intensive.

Madmab
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:06 am

Post by Madmab » Fri Oct 07, 2011 7:37 pm

Sound core update is from 1.52 and on up.

I was referring to any changes made between 1.42 and 1.51 that may affect the speed of this particular game. Just in case I accidently foobared something I should not have.
Xtras! We do the systems others dare not!

User avatar
zones
Official Mac OSX Porter/Dev
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:58 pm
Location: Japan

Post by zones » Sat Oct 08, 2011 1:33 am

You may turn off SA-1 timers; I don't know how they actually work (my code should be wrong) and I'm not sure which games actually use them.

Madmab
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:06 am

Post by Madmab » Sat Oct 08, 2011 5:27 am

zones wrote:You may turn off SA-1 timers; I don't know how they actually work (my code should be wrong) and I'm not sure which games actually use them.
ok thanks for the suggestion.. Although I'm not quite sure what you are refferring to.. looking thru the commits right now. :oops: :)
Xtras! We do the systems others dare not!

Madmab
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:06 am

Post by Madmab » Thu Oct 13, 2011 8:14 pm

Any suggestions? I'm looking thru the code but I'm not sure how to disable these SA1 timers you are referring to. :shock:
Xtras! We do the systems others dare not!

User avatar
zones
Official Mac OSX Porter/Dev
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:58 pm
Location: Japan

Post by zones » Tue Oct 18, 2011 11:57 am

You may remove SA1.Cycles and its related functions like S9xSA1UpdateTimer() from 1.53 sa1.cpp.

Madmab
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 9:06 am

Post by Madmab » Wed Oct 19, 2011 12:49 pm

oh.. those changes.. those were made after 1.52

I was looking in particular for any changes that may have occured between 1.42 and 1.51 that may affect the speed of this particular game. Just in case I accidently foobared something I should not have.

Thanks
Xtras! We do the systems others dare not!

FrancoisC
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:00 am
Location: Montreal

Post by FrancoisC » Sat Oct 22, 2011 3:39 am

Hi Zones,

I guess you can help me on this one; a while ago you gave me a command (on this forum) that I could run on Terminal on OS X to have Snes9x run with perfect 4x3 on fullscreen, but I lost it and I can't find my old thread, I guess it was deleted.

Do you remember what it was?

Thanks!

User avatar
zones
Official Mac OSX Porter/Dev
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:58 pm
Location: Japan

Post by zones » Sun Oct 23, 2011 5:30 am

1.53: Click the text 'Aspect Ratio' (not the slider) and you get 4x3 screen.

FrancoisC
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:00 am
Location: Montreal

Post by FrancoisC » Sun Oct 23, 2011 2:10 pm

Thanks, I did not notice this option ;)

CahosRahneVeloza
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 21
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:58 pm

Post by CahosRahneVeloza » Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:39 pm

Hey folks, I know it's been seven months since 1.53 was released so it is safe to say that most ROM compatibility issues have been reported to you guys & workarounds & fixes have been presented. However I seem to have encountered one, although it might be very well be just on my end.

The games are "Tetris Attack" (both U & E versions) & "Panel de Pon" (the original Japanese release for Tetris Attack). The issue is a minor screen flicker during the mid game cut scenes where Yoshi (or Lip) is traveling to & from each stage you beat & you encounter your next opponent. As I said, very minor as you can just skip the cut scenes altogether :)

Here is my Display settings, if the issue can be remedied by changing stuff a bit:

Image

User avatar
Cassiel
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:54 am

Post by Cassiel » Mon Feb 20, 2012 2:05 am

Clements wrote:Noticed so far that the Windows port creates several file associations by default without asking the user. Any way to prevent this happening?
OV2 wrote:It doesn't directly create file associations, it registers itself as an "OpenWith" application for all its supported filetypes (which is necessary for the jumplist entries). It will never overwrite any association you might have set up yourself.
Yes, but it does also replace the icon and the file description. This behaviour is EXTREMELY irritating (and also inaccurate) if you are using multiple emulators and a generic extension (e.g. *.bin). Is there not more elegant way to deal with this, or at the very least a way to opt out of this new behaviour?

User avatar
OV2
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
Posts: 645
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm

Post by OV2 » Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:41 pm

It registers the extensions listed in valid.ext, you can edit that file with notepad. I removed all generic extensions from that list, but I might have missed one or you might have that file from an old version.

User avatar
Cassiel
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 1:54 am

Post by Cassiel » Mon Feb 20, 2012 4:49 pm

Thanks for the quick response...

My 'Valid.Ext' is definatley the default 1.53 packaged one.

What is the purpose of this file? Is this also what Snes9X considers 'supported' file formats when opening?

Sorry for all the questions, just want to understand the behaviour before I start editing. Are the Y/N flags to indicate compressed or not?

Locked