Snes9x.com
http://www.snes9x.com/phpbb3/

Snes9x 1.52 is now dead due to Snes9X 1.53 being out
http://www.snes9x.com/phpbb3/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=4542
Page 4 of 8

Author:  creaothceann [ Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Hello

Deathbringer wrote:
the screenshots I take looks crashed or something. It's strange because when I open the screenshot with ACDSee Viewer it looks good, but In the windows viewer looks messed up.

Don't use Windows Viewer. :wink:

IrfanView is good, too.

Author:  CrispyXUK [ Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

A nice unexpected new years present :)

Any chance us mac users can choose were saves go? Personally I'd like to save to my dropbox folder.

Author:  zones [ Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:38 pm ]
Post subject: 

sjyune wrote:
there are still old GFX bugs unchanged

All of them are not related to GFX.
The SA-1 problems might be due to incomplete SA-1 emulation.
Hybrid Wrestler issue is a long standing problem... This game does insane DMA transfer and Snes9x returns MDR (OpenBus) as a good manner, but it causes the glitch...

Author:  zones [ Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:43 pm ]
Post subject: 

CrispyXUK wrote:
Any chance us mac users can choose were saves go? Personally I'd like to save to my dropbox folder.

Currently, no chance. But I'll add it later.
TigerG3 wrote:
incompatible cpu-subtype

I'm not sure why... Actually it runs on my G3. Try to build with -mcpu=G3 -mtune=G3.

Author:  TigerG3 [ Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:33 pm ]
Post subject: 

zones wrote:
TigerG3 wrote:
incompatible cpu-subtype

I'm not sure why... Actually it runs on my G3. Try to build with -mcpu=G3 -mtune=G3.


Unfortunately, my internal hard drive has little space for installing the Developer Tools, there is someone available to test this suggestion?

Many thanks in advance

Author:  CrispyXUK [ Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:13 pm ]
Post subject: 

zones wrote:
CrispyXUK wrote:
Any chance us mac users can choose were saves go? Personally I'd like to save to my dropbox folder.

Thanks man, you're a star. Haven't spotted any bugs not mentioned yet but I'll keep testing.

Is there a technical reason we can't change from windowed to fullscreen in the OSX version BTW?

Author:  Deathbringer [ Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Hello

creaothceann wrote:
Deathbringer wrote:
the screenshots I take looks crashed or something. It's strange because when I open the screenshot with ACDSee Viewer it looks good, but In the windows viewer looks messed up.

Don't use Windows Viewer. :wink:

IrfanView is good, too.


Not only on windows viewer looks messed up, in paint, in a frontend (GoodFE), in window explorer (thumbnails),etc.
I only see it right on ACDSee.
I don't know why, in older versions this doesn't happen.

Author:  the_randomizer [ Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:41 pm ]
Post subject: 

What's wrong with using alt+printscreen?

Author:  Deathbringer [ Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:15 am ]
Post subject: 

haha, what is the meaning of a screenshot hotkey (that you can configure with your pad,etc) then? haha

As I said before, the Fullscreen option is always unchecked too, but that is a minor problem I think.

Only trying to help the emu to get the maximum potential.

Greets

Author:  sjyune [ Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Sync Sound & Display Hiccup

does anyone notice when 'Sync Sound' is enabled, display/scrolling get occassional hiccups.. ?
it's just like auto-frame-skipping is activated
'Sync Sound' didn't affect display/frame rate in older versions
it's quite stuttering for shooters and actions..

Author:  iceman101101 [ Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Sync Sound & Display Hiccup

sjyune wrote:
does anyone notice when 'Sync Sound' is enabled, display/scrolling get occassional hiccups.. ?
it's just like auto-frame-skipping is activated
'Sync Sound' didn't affect display/frame rate in older versions
it's quite stuttering for shooters and actions..


I had that problem until I enabled VSync in the snes9x config file. There is a checkbox under the display configuration in the latest release (fix4). Also, note that you may have to tweak the input frequency in the audio config. The default of 31900 kHz seems to work fine for me.

Author:  OV2 [ Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:05 pm ]
Post subject: 

Deathbringer wrote:
haha, what is the meaning of a screenshot hotkey (that you can configure with your pad,etc) then? haha

As I said before, the Fullscreen option is always unchecked too, but that is a minor problem I think.

Only trying to help the emu to get the maximum potential.

Greets

The screenshots/WinXp issue seems to be a libpng issue - I'll update this in the next release.

The fullscreen option is always unchecked because opening the display options menu in fullscreen switches to windowed mode first.

sjyune wrote:
does anyone notice when 'Sync Sound' is enabled, display/scrolling get occassional hiccups.. ?
it's just like auto-frame-skipping is activated
'Sync Sound' didn't affect display/frame rate in older versions
it's quite stuttering for shooters and actions..

Sync Sound works completely different than in previous versions (where it only performed the mixing more often). If it is enabled, emulation waits for the host sound system to consume available sound samples before continuing. If you encounter hiccups you might have the input frequency set to a value that is too low.

Author:  sjyune [ Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:42 pm ]
Post subject: 

Yes, indeed i get much less hiccups (but not as smooth as older versions) but if I increase input frequency value then I get crackling noise...
Not enabling 'Sound sync' also causes emulation speed/frame rate unthrottled and crakling noise as well...so it's not 'optional' like before but "must"

i prefer old method as scrolling was like baby's butt...

Author:  OV2 [ Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:14 pm ]
Post subject: 

If you disable sound sync you'll have to enable VSync or switch frame skipping to automatic.

Author:  Deathbringer [ Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:23 am ]
Post subject: 

OV2 wrote:
Deathbringer wrote:
haha, what is the meaning of a screenshot hotkey (that you can configure with your pad,etc) then? haha

As I said before, the Fullscreen option is always unchecked too, but that is a minor problem I think.

Only trying to help the emu to get the maximum potential.

Greets

The screenshots/WinXp issue seems to be a libpng issue - I'll update this in the next release.

The fullscreen option is always unchecked because opening the display options menu in fullscreen switches to windowed mode first.


Thanks OV2! Waiting for the new release!

PS: Playing some games I note that even selecting V-Sync sometimes the upper part of the screen shows some turbulency (or something haha), is minimal but anyways I think I have to let you know.

Author:  the_randomizer [ Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:33 am ]
Post subject: 

Now we just need to wait for a wii/gamecube port, right?

Author:  sjyune [ Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:46 pm ]
Post subject: 

OV2 wrote:
If you disable sound sync you'll have to enable VSync or switch frame skipping to automatic.


thanks alot, that surely fixed that speed issue, though still crackling noise won't go away.....i tried every combination (sampling rate / input frequency set), but i still get these crackling noise without 'sound sync'...maybe it's win9x timining issue or my sound card is out-of-date...but really i can't complain ..anyway, thanks again for the special win9x build.. :wink:

Author:  Camo_Yoshi [ Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:49 am ]
Post subject: 

You can try either getting a audio card or updating your drivers.

Author:  squall_leonhart69r [ Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Hello

Deathbringer wrote:
creaothceann wrote:
Deathbringer wrote:
the screenshots I take looks crashed or something. It's strange because when I open the screenshot with ACDSee Viewer it looks good, but In the windows viewer looks messed up.

Don't use Windows Viewer. :wink:

IrfanView is good, too.


Not only on windows viewer looks messed up, in paint, in a frontend (GoodFE), in window explorer (thumbnails),etc.
I only see it right on ACDSee.
I don't know why, in older versions this doesn't happen.


a well known issue. the windows based previews lower the quality for some unknown reason.

Use paint.net for best viewing.

Author:  Camo_Yoshi [ Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:22 pm ]
Post subject: 

Yes. Paint.NET is like, epic win from Microsoft.

Page 4 of 8 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/