Snes9x 1.52 is now dead due to Snes9X 1.53 being out

This is for people involved in the developement of Snes9x, or SNES emulators in general.
BUG REPORTS BELONG IN TECH SUPPORT/BUG TRACKING!

Moderator: Ryan

Locked
User avatar
creaothceann
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 2:48 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Hello

Post by creaothceann » Mon Jan 18, 2010 10:22 am

Deathbringer wrote:the screenshots I take looks crashed or something. It's strange because when I open the screenshot with ACDSee Viewer it looks good, but In the windows viewer looks messed up.
Don't use Windows Viewer. :wink:

IrfanView is good, too.

CrispyXUK
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:12 pm

Post by CrispyXUK » Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:14 pm

A nice unexpected new years present :)

Any chance us mac users can choose were saves go? Personally I'd like to save to my dropbox folder.

User avatar
zones
Official Mac OSX Porter/Dev
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:58 pm
Location: Japan

Post by zones » Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:38 pm

sjyune wrote:there are still old GFX bugs unchanged
All of them are not related to GFX.
The SA-1 problems might be due to incomplete SA-1 emulation.
Hybrid Wrestler issue is a long standing problem... This game does insane DMA transfer and Snes9x returns MDR (OpenBus) as a good manner, but it causes the glitch...

User avatar
zones
Official Mac OSX Porter/Dev
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat May 15, 2004 11:58 pm
Location: Japan

Post by zones » Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:43 pm

CrispyXUK wrote:Any chance us mac users can choose were saves go? Personally I'd like to save to my dropbox folder.
Currently, no chance. But I'll add it later.
TigerG3 wrote:incompatible cpu-subtype
I'm not sure why... Actually it runs on my G3. Try to build with -mcpu=G3 -mtune=G3.

TigerG3
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 2:40 pm

Post by TigerG3 » Mon Jan 18, 2010 1:33 pm

zones wrote:
TigerG3 wrote:incompatible cpu-subtype
I'm not sure why... Actually it runs on my G3. Try to build with -mcpu=G3 -mtune=G3.
Unfortunately, my internal hard drive has little space for installing the Developer Tools, there is someone available to test this suggestion?

Many thanks in advance

CrispyXUK
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 12:12 pm

Post by CrispyXUK » Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:13 pm

zones wrote:
CrispyXUK wrote:Any chance us mac users can choose were saves go? Personally I'd like to save to my dropbox folder.
Thanks man, you're a star. Haven't spotted any bugs not mentioned yet but I'll keep testing.

Is there a technical reason we can't change from windowed to fullscreen in the OSX version BTW?

User avatar
Deathbringer
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:09 am
Location: The Land of the Dead

Re: Hello

Post by Deathbringer » Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:32 pm

creaothceann wrote:
Deathbringer wrote:the screenshots I take looks crashed or something. It's strange because when I open the screenshot with ACDSee Viewer it looks good, but In the windows viewer looks messed up.
Don't use Windows Viewer. :wink:

IrfanView is good, too.
Not only on windows viewer looks messed up, in paint, in a frontend (GoodFE), in window explorer (thumbnails),etc.
I only see it right on ACDSee.
I don't know why, in older versions this doesn't happen.

the_randomizer
Snes9x Orange Belt
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:18 am

Post by the_randomizer » Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:41 pm

What's wrong with using alt+printscreen?
Lisa: "I hope you all know you're sponsoring a murderous pirate!"
Sponsor: "A pirate!!? Well, that's hardly the image we need for Long John Silvers!"

User avatar
Deathbringer
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:09 am
Location: The Land of the Dead

Post by Deathbringer » Tue Jan 19, 2010 12:15 am

haha, what is the meaning of a screenshot hotkey (that you can configure with your pad,etc) then? haha

As I said before, the Fullscreen option is always unchecked too, but that is a minor problem I think.

Only trying to help the emu to get the maximum potential.

Greets

sjyune
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:19 am

Sync Sound & Display Hiccup

Post by sjyune » Tue Jan 19, 2010 1:46 pm

does anyone notice when 'Sync Sound' is enabled, display/scrolling get occassional hiccups.. ?
it's just like auto-frame-skipping is activated
'Sync Sound' didn't affect display/frame rate in older versions
it's quite stuttering for shooters and actions..

iceman101101
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 7:36 pm
Location: SWMO

Re: Sync Sound & Display Hiccup

Post by iceman101101 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 2:10 pm

sjyune wrote:does anyone notice when 'Sync Sound' is enabled, display/scrolling get occassional hiccups.. ?
it's just like auto-frame-skipping is activated
'Sync Sound' didn't affect display/frame rate in older versions
it's quite stuttering for shooters and actions..
I had that problem until I enabled VSync in the snes9x config file. There is a checkbox under the display configuration in the latest release (fix4). Also, note that you may have to tweak the input frequency in the audio config. The default of 31900 kHz seems to work fine for me.

User avatar
OV2
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm

Post by OV2 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:05 pm

Deathbringer wrote:haha, what is the meaning of a screenshot hotkey (that you can configure with your pad,etc) then? haha

As I said before, the Fullscreen option is always unchecked too, but that is a minor problem I think.

Only trying to help the emu to get the maximum potential.

Greets
The screenshots/WinXp issue seems to be a libpng issue - I'll update this in the next release.

The fullscreen option is always unchecked because opening the display options menu in fullscreen switches to windowed mode first.
sjyune wrote:does anyone notice when 'Sync Sound' is enabled, display/scrolling get occassional hiccups.. ?
it's just like auto-frame-skipping is activated
'Sync Sound' didn't affect display/frame rate in older versions
it's quite stuttering for shooters and actions..
Sync Sound works completely different than in previous versions (where it only performed the mixing more often). If it is enabled, emulation waits for the host sound system to consume available sound samples before continuing. If you encounter hiccups you might have the input frequency set to a value that is too low.

sjyune
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:19 am

Post by sjyune » Tue Jan 19, 2010 8:42 pm

Yes, indeed i get much less hiccups (but not as smooth as older versions) but if I increase input frequency value then I get crackling noise...
Not enabling 'Sound sync' also causes emulation speed/frame rate unthrottled and crakling noise as well...so it's not 'optional' like before but "must"

i prefer old method as scrolling was like baby's butt...

User avatar
OV2
Official Win32 Porter/Dev
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 10:15 pm

Post by OV2 » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:14 pm

If you disable sound sync you'll have to enable VSync or switch frame skipping to automatic.

User avatar
Deathbringer
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 2:09 am
Location: The Land of the Dead

Post by Deathbringer » Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:23 am

OV2 wrote:
Deathbringer wrote:haha, what is the meaning of a screenshot hotkey (that you can configure with your pad,etc) then? haha

As I said before, the Fullscreen option is always unchecked too, but that is a minor problem I think.

Only trying to help the emu to get the maximum potential.

Greets
The screenshots/WinXp issue seems to be a libpng issue - I'll update this in the next release.

The fullscreen option is always unchecked because opening the display options menu in fullscreen switches to windowed mode first.
Thanks OV2! Waiting for the new release!

PS: Playing some games I note that even selecting V-Sync sometimes the upper part of the screen shows some turbulency (or something haha), is minimal but anyways I think I have to let you know.

the_randomizer
Snes9x Orange Belt
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 4:18 am

Post by the_randomizer » Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:33 am

Now we just need to wait for a wii/gamecube port, right?
Lisa: "I hope you all know you're sponsoring a murderous pirate!"
Sponsor: "A pirate!!? Well, that's hardly the image we need for Long John Silvers!"

sjyune
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Jul 24, 2006 12:19 am

Post by sjyune » Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:46 pm

OV2 wrote:If you disable sound sync you'll have to enable VSync or switch frame skipping to automatic.
thanks alot, that surely fixed that speed issue, though still crackling noise won't go away.....i tried every combination (sampling rate / input frequency set), but i still get these crackling noise without 'sound sync'...maybe it's win9x timining issue or my sound card is out-of-date...but really i can't complain ..anyway, thanks again for the special win9x build.. :wink:

User avatar
Camo_Yoshi
Snes9x Purple belt
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: /dev/null

Post by Camo_Yoshi » Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:49 am

You can try either getting a audio card or updating your drivers.
Snes9x FAQs | Forum Rules
What operating system are you using? 32 or 64bit? Version of Snes9x? Is the text at the bottom of the window white when you load the game?
These suggestions are usually the solution to your issue!

squall_leonhart69r

Re: Hello

Post by squall_leonhart69r » Sun Jan 24, 2010 6:52 am

Deathbringer wrote:
creaothceann wrote:
Deathbringer wrote:the screenshots I take looks crashed or something. It's strange because when I open the screenshot with ACDSee Viewer it looks good, but In the windows viewer looks messed up.
Don't use Windows Viewer. :wink:

IrfanView is good, too.
Not only on windows viewer looks messed up, in paint, in a frontend (GoodFE), in window explorer (thumbnails),etc.
I only see it right on ACDSee.
I don't know why, in older versions this doesn't happen.
a well known issue. the windows based previews lower the quality for some unknown reason.

Use paint.net for best viewing.

User avatar
Camo_Yoshi
Snes9x Purple belt
Posts: 922
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 7:59 pm
Location: /dev/null

Post by Camo_Yoshi » Sun Jan 24, 2010 4:22 pm

Yes. Paint.NET is like, epic win from Microsoft.
Snes9x FAQs | Forum Rules
What operating system are you using? 32 or 64bit? Version of Snes9x? Is the text at the bottom of the window white when you load the game?
These suggestions are usually the solution to your issue!

Locked