Page 7 of 8

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:03 am
by CahosRahneVeloza
OV2 wrote:It's a known issue. Until the next version is released you can start snes9x with "-hdmatiming 84" to remove the flickering.
I can't find this hdmating setting in the emulator's options so I'm guessing it's a string I need to add to the shortcut command of the emulator that you can edit by viewing the shortcut's properties, am I right?

Also, that's fantastic news that you'll be working on yet another version :) I'll definitely be looking forward to it :)

And since you mentioned it, here's another game that's been riddled with emulation related issues:

Dirt Trax FX, This game's been riddled by flickering menu screens since day one, OK that's an exaggeration but it is riddled by issues even on earlier versions of SNES9x.

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 11:34 pm
by Camo_Yoshi
CahosRahneVeloza wrote:
OV2 wrote:It's a known issue. Until the next version is released you can start snes9x with "-hdmatiming 84" to remove the flickering.
I can't find this hdmating setting in the emulator's options so I'm guessing it's a string I need to add to the shortcut command of the emulator that you can edit by viewing the shortcut's properties, am I right?

Also, that's fantastic news that you'll be working on yet another version :) I'll definitely be looking forward to it :)

And since you mentioned it, here's another game that's been riddled with emulation related issues:

Dirt Trax FX, This game's been riddled by flickering menu screens since day one, OK that's an exaggeration but it is riddled by issues even on earlier versions of SNES9x.
Copy and paste following text into notepad and save it as a .bat. Then but it where snes9x.exe is.

Code: Select all

@echo off
snes9x -hdatiming 84

Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 2:41 pm
by CahosRahneVeloza
Camo_Yoshi wrote:
CahosRahneVeloza wrote:
OV2 wrote:It's a known issue. Until the next version is released you can start snes9x with "-hdmatiming 84" to remove the flickering.
I can't find this hdmating setting in the emulator's options so I'm guessing it's a string I need to add to the shortcut command of the emulator that you can edit by viewing the shortcut's properties, am I right?

Also, that's fantastic news that you'll be working on yet another version :) I'll definitely be looking forward to it :)

And since you mentioned it, here's another game that's been riddled with emulation related issues:

Dirt Trax FX, This game's been riddled by flickering menu screens since day one, OK that's an exaggeration but it is riddled by issues even on earlier versions of SNES9x.
Copy and paste following text into notepad and save it as a .bat. Then but it where snes9x.exe is.

Code: Select all

@echo off
snes9x -hdatiming 84
I see...

Thank you Camo_Yoshi :)

Posted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 11:42 pm
by Camo_Yoshi
Hey no prob, I make batches all the time, so let me know if it doesn't work.

Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 2:48 pm
by the_randomizer
Camo_Yoshi wrote:Hey no prob, I make batches all the time, so let me know if it doesn't work.
About that batch file...is there any reason why the "hdmatiming" value of 84 doesn't work? Wait...perhaps I should try some other values. Back in a minute.

Edit: *Sigh* No, it didn't work for some reason.
Used @echo off snes9x -hdatiming 84 in the batch file, too. Weird.

Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 9:46 pm
by OV2
That's because the command is "-hdmatiming 84"

Posted: Thu Jul 22, 2010 11:31 pm
by Camo_Yoshi
OH SHI- ARRRRGH FUCKING DAMMIT HELL!

Here:

Code: Select all

@echo off
snes9x -hdmatiming 84

Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 3:11 am
by the_randomizer
Camo_Yoshi wrote:OH SHI- ARRRRGH (unnecessary expletive) !

Here:

Code: Select all

@echo off
snes9x -hdmatiming 84
WHA? That didn't work, by the way.

Image

Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:23 pm
by Camo_Yoshi
Yes, replace it.

Posted: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:39 pm
by the_randomizer
Camo_Yoshi wrote:Yes, replace it.
Replace what? I don't know what in bloody blazes you're talking about. I did replace it, with that exact command, and it still didn't work when I opened the batch file. Am I not missing something in the notepad?

Code:

@echo off
snes9x -hdmatiming 84

That's exactly what I used. And it sure as heck won't let me add
"-hdmatiming 84" in the command line of a shortcut, either. It tells me that it's "not a valid command". Makes perfect sense.

Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 3:28 am
by Camo_Yoshi
the_randomizer wrote:
Camo_Yoshi wrote:Yes, replace it.
Replace what? I don't know what in bloody blazes you're talking about. I did replace it, with that exact command, and it still didn't work when I opened the batch file. Am I not missing something in the notepad?

Code:

@echo off
snes9x -hdmatiming 84

That's exactly what I used. And it sure as heck won't let me add
"-hdmatiming 84" in the command line of a shortcut, either. It tells me that it's "not a valid command". Makes perfect sense.
Never mind, I guess it doesn't work after all.

Dammit OV2, get that workaround done already for snes9x 1.521! :wink:

Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 11:11 pm
by OV2
Note that any savestates made without the command line switch will still flicker with the switch present.
(from here).

Notice how you made the same typo there camo_yoshi? ;)

Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 9:28 pm
by sjyune
two SA1 games currently not running properly under Snes9x

*SD Gundam G-Next (J) - special SA1 DMA (map glitch)
*Jumping Derby (J) - need SA1 NMI (timing mode)

hey, you guys, any chance of merging bsnes's accurate SA1 core/emulation into Snes9x ?

Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 2:23 am
by adventure_of_link
sjyune wrote:two SA1 games currently not running properly under Snes9x

*SD Gundam G-Next (J) - special SA1 DMA (map glitch)
*Jumping Derby (J) - need SA1 NMI (timing mode)

hey, you guys, any chance of merging bsnes's accurate SA1 core/emulation into Snes9x ?
...you know, you didn't have to post this here then make a new thread on it...

Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 7:39 am
by sjyune
adventure_of_link wrote:
sjyune wrote:two SA1 games currently not running properly under Snes9x

*SD Gundam G-Next (J) - special SA1 DMA (map glitch)
*Jumping Derby (J) - need SA1 NMI (timing mode)

hey, you guys, any chance of merging bsnes's accurate SA1 core/emulation into Snes9x ?
...you know, you didn't have to post this here then make a new thread on it...
sorry, my bad..while i was sumitting the post, my IE crashed and thought it didn't go through (as i checked my message didn't show up till then)...so made a new thread instead...later, i found out i made a double post....geez...

mod, plaese don't mind to delete my double-post here

Posted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:27 pm
by Camo_Yoshi
Why the heck are you using IE anyway? :?

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:09 am
by sjyune
Camo_Yoshi wrote:Why the heck are you using IE anyway? :?
cuz, i'm still using Win98SE :P

*just took the wrong road during dual boot....that's all

Posted: Fri Aug 20, 2010 10:28 pm
by Camo_Yoshi
Firefox 2 should work for Win98.

I found a bug with current version of SNES9x

Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:27 pm
by Videogamer555
I'm not sure if it existed before or not but I just noticed SNES9x doesn't correctly scale the image of the game screen. When I set the configuration file display resolution to 512x448 (exactly twice the size of the SNES default of 256x224) it does NOT double every line. About 1 out of every or so lines is NOT doubled. This happens both vertically and horizontally. I'm not sure but my computer is running Windows 7 instead of XP, so maybe Windows 7 interprets window size differently, counting the outer border of the window in this measurement, not just the game screen size (which is what SHOULD be set to a multiple of 256x224).

Please fix this. It is very distracting to see sprites slightly deform as they cross one of these rows or columns of "bad" pixels.

Re: I found a bug with current version of SNES9x

Posted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:41 pm
by SparroHawc
Videogamer555 wrote:I'm not sure if it existed before or not but I just noticed SNES9x doesn't correctly scale the image of the game screen. When I set the configuration file display resolution to 512x448 (exactly twice the size of the SNES default of 256x224) it does NOT double every line. About 1 out of every or so lines is NOT doubled. This happens both vertically and horizontally. I'm not sure but my computer is running Windows 7 instead of XP, so maybe Windows 7 interprets window size differently, counting the outer border of the window in this measurement, not just the game screen size (which is what SHOULD be set to a multiple of 256x224).

Please fix this. It is very distracting to see sprites slightly deform as they cross one of these rows or columns of "bad" pixels.
Could you re-post this in the bug reports topic?