Input Lag Issues

If you're having problems with Snes9x, or think you've found a bug, this is the place to be.
rchrdcrg
Snes9x White Belt

Input Lag Issues

Post by rchrdcrg »

OK, I'm probably being a snob and wanting everything to be perfect, but there is just a slight input lag between when I press a button and when something happens. I've tested the same controller on other emulators, including bsnes as well as other systems, and the lag does not exist there. Since there's a myriad settings and I've fiddled with them all (I've been messing with emulators since esnes back in 1997, so I'm not a n00b), feel free to ask what is necessary.

I'm experiencing this in both SNES9X 1.53 as well as the latest TestBuild 20111223. I've tried every video output, fiddled with sound settings, everything. It's a very slight delay, but I've been playing these games for so long that even a tiny delay sticks out like a sore thumb. I would just use bsnes, but the video stutters every couple seconds for some reason, not to mention any time I load up a video filter (ie 2xsai, NTSC filter, etc) it just crashes. I never used to have so many issues back in the day, but then again these emulators weren't nearly as accurate as they are now.

I have been considering switching to 64-bit Windows 7 from 32-bit (I've been fighting the switch from 32 to 64 for years)... would that make any difference or is that basically like using a toaster oven to make apple juice (ie completely and totally unrelated and pointless)? Is anyone else experiencing this? Any suggestions at all? Don't be afraid to get technical... like I said, been in the scene for 15 years. Thanks in advance for any help.
odditude
Snes9x Green Belt

Post by odditude »

what kind of controller? also, what's the refresh rate on your monitor?

and no, you're not being a snob; input lag makes the difference between making a perfect jump and just walking off the edge.