Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

If you're having problems with Snes9x, or think you've found a bug, this is the place to be.
Post Reply
anonimo1w
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 3:49 am

Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by anonimo1w »

Hello,
for some odd reason in Ubuntu 13.10, everytime i try to open a menu (like preferences or open a rom from file>open)
the program crash/freezes.
That's it. Anyway to fix this (maybe a conflict between unity and the gtk version?)
studiorion
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:12 pm

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by studiorion »

I'm having the exact same problem. Has anyone had any luck with this?
nx1101
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:31 am

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by nx1101 »

Same here. Applying this patch to 1.53 fixes the issue for me:

https://gist.github.com/anonymous/8908390
studiorion
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:12 pm

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by studiorion »

I'm very excited to see a possible solution, but I'll admit that I'm a linux hobbyist at best and I have no idea what to do with that code. Any chance you can elaborate a bit?
nx1101
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:31 am

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by nx1101 »

Hi studiorion. You'll have to download the source code, apply the patch, and then compile. Try these commands:

Code: Select all

$ wget https://sites.google.com/site/bearoso/snes9x/snes9x-1.53-src.tar.bz2
$ tar xvjf snes9x-1.53-src.tar.bz2
$ cd snes9x-1.53-src/
$ wget -qO- https://gist.github.com/anonymous/8908390/raw/5a6cd340fd4876cd14d0c84e027768eca2f9f746/gistfile1.diff | patch -p1
$ cd gtk/
$ ./configure && make
If all goes well, you'll have a snes9x-gtk binary in the gtk directory at the end. If you run into trouble, msg me your email address and I'll send you the compiled 64-bit binary. It might work for you.
studiorion
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:12 pm

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by studiorion »

Awesome, you rock!
User avatar
BearOso
Official GTK/Linux Porter/Dev
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:50 am

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by BearOso »

nx1101 wrote:Same here. Applying this patch to 1.53 fixes the issue for me:

https://gist.github.com/anonymous/8908390
Not sure why this fixes the problem. The current folder shouldn't be returning NULL unless ubuntu screwed around with gtk. Is there a difference compiling for gtk 3.0 vs gtk 2.0 with the latest git version?
nx1101
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 12:31 am

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by nx1101 »

I think I figured it out. Maybe studiorion or someone else can confirm. If you select a ROM from "Recently Used", which is the default on my system, then `gtk_file_chooser_get_current_folder` returns NULL (probably because "Recently Used" is not a real directory). If I navigate into the file system and choose a ROM that way, it works as expected.
User avatar
BearOso
Official GTK/Linux Porter/Dev
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:50 am

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by BearOso »

Ok. That makes sense. I've never actually seen ROM images show up in the recently used section (probably because the recent menu clears them on stock GTK+). I've committed a fix, and I'll update the PPA.
studiorion
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Feb 09, 2014 5:12 pm

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by studiorion »

Thank you all so much for the help. After much dependency chasing I got the above commands to execute properly and unfortunately the same problem still persists. Anyone have any ideas at this point?
User avatar
BearOso
Official GTK/Linux Porter/Dev
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2007 12:50 am

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by BearOso »

studiorion wrote:Thank you all so much for the help. After much dependency chasing I got the above commands to execute properly and unfortunately the same problem still persists. Anyone have any ideas at this point?
Are you using the "Recently Used" section like nx1101? Are you actually using the binary you compiled and not accidentally the system copy? Have you tried the PPA?

Could you list the all steps you use to launch the program and select a game before the program freezes?
Raid
Snes9x White Belt
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 3:46 pm

Re: Bug in Ubuntu 13.10

Post by Raid »

The bug I'm running into is the APP MENU bug. The workaround is in terminal, go to the gtk directory and run:

Code: Select all

  UBUNTU_MENUPROXY="" ./snes9x-gtk
Post Reply